ترتفع نسبة الإصابة بالسرطان المرتبط بالسمنة بين البالغين الأصغر سنا

//ترتفع نسبة الإصابة بالسرطان المرتبط بالسمنة بين البالغين الأصغر سنا

ترتفع نسبة الإصابة بالسرطان المرتبط بالسمنة بين البالغين الأصغر سنا

في العقود القليلة الماضية ، تم إحراز تقدم كبير في مكافحة السرطان. ومع ذلك ، يظهر نمط جديد مقلق لدى البالغين الأصغر سنا: فكلما كان جيل الشباب أصغر ، كلما زاد خطر الإصابة بسرطانات معينة – خاصة السرطانات المرتبطة بالسمنة مثل القولون والبنكرياس. ترتبط العديد من السرطانات بالوزن الزائد للجسم ، ويعني ارتفاع السمنة في الأعمار الأصغر سناً التعرض لفترة أطول للتأثيرات الأيضية السلبية للسمنة.

قام باحثون من جمعية السرطان الأمريكية بجمع بيانات من 25 سجلًا لسرطان الولاية للأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 25 و 84 عامًا والذين تم تشخيص إصابتهم بأي سرطان من عام 1995 إلى عام 2014. [1] خلال هذه الفترة الزمنية ، بلغت معدلات الإصابة 6 من 12 من أنواع السرطان المرتبطة بالسمنة – المايلوما المتعددة ، يزداد ارتفاعًا ملحوظًا في الفئة العمرية الأصغر بين 25 و 49 عامًا (القولون والمستقيم والرحم والمرارة والكلى والبنكرياس) (مع حدوث الزيادات الحادة في الأعمار الأصغر سنًا). على الرغم من ارتفاع معدل الإصابة بهذه السرطانات في الفئات العمرية الأكبر سنا ، إلا أن معدل الزيادة كان أصغر بكثير.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أن نسبة حدوث معظم أنواع السرطان الأخرى غير المرتبطة بالسمنة لم تزداد في الفئة العمرية الأصغر سناً ، مع تناقص بعض أنواع السرطان المرتبطة بالتدخين مثل سرطان الرئة. لاحظ الباحثون أن الزيادة في السرطانات المرتبطة بالسمنة حدثت جنبًا إلى جنب مع زيادة معدلات السمنة لدى الشباب. بين عامي 1980 و 2014 ، زاد انتشار زيادة الوزن / السمنة لدى الأطفال والمراهقين في الولايات المتحدة بأكثر من 100 ٪.

وقال الدكتور إد جيوفانوتشي ، أستاذ في أقسام التغذية والأوبئة بكلية هارفارد تشان ، “إن نتائج دراسة جمعية السرطان الأمريكية مثيرة للقلق ، وإن لم تكن مفاجئة تمامًا ، بالنظر إلى أن السمنة مرتبطة بعشرات أنواع السرطان على الأقل”. الذي لم يشارك في الدراسة. “لقد شككنا في أن الارتفاع الأخير في معدلات السمنة لدى الأطفال والمراهقين قد يؤثر على معدلات هذه السرطانات ، لكن لم يكن لدينا بيانات واضحة حتى هذه الدراسة. يبدو أن ما لا يقل عن 6 من هذه السرطانات المرتبطة بالسمنة أظهرت زيادات حديثة في سرطان الشباب ، وهو ما يوازي معدلات زيادة السمنة. لسوء الحظ ، فإن هذا عكس بعض التقدم الذي أحرزناه من خلال انخفاض معدلات التدخين ، والفحص ، وتحسين العلاج. ”

لا تزال الوقاية من السمنة ومكافحتها مسألة ملحة تتعلق بالصحة العامة ، وتتطلب اتخاذ إجراء فردي ومجتمعي. السرطانات المرتبطة بالسمنة الناشئة في البالغين الأصغر سنا ستزيد فقط من عبء المرض مع تقدمهم في السن ، ويواجهون خطر الإصابة بالظروف الأخرى المرتبطة بالوزن مثل السكري من النوع 2 ، وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ، وهشاشة العظام.

By |2019-08-10T13:53:02+00:00February 20th, 2019|Blog|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment

Incidence of obesity-related cancers is rising in younger adults

//Incidence of obesity-related cancers is rising in younger adults

Incidence of obesity-related cancers is rising in younger adults

In the past few decades, great progress has been made in the fight against cancer. However a disturbing new pattern is emerging in younger adults: the younger the generation, the greater the risk of developing certain cancers—especially obesity-related cancers such as of the colon and pancreas. Several cancers are linked with carrying excess body weight, and the rise of obesity in younger ages means a longer lifetime exposure to the negative metabolic effects of obesity.

Researchers from the American Cancer Society collected data from 25 state cancer registries for people ages 25-84 diagnosed with any cancer from 1995 to 2014. [1] Over this time period, incidence rates of 6 of 12 obesity-related cancers—multiple myeloma, colorectal, uterine, gallbladder, kidney, and pancreatic—increased significantly in the youngest age group of 25-49 years (with the sharpest increases in progressively younger ages). Although the incidence of these cancers also rose in older age groups, the rate of increase was much smaller.

Interestingly the incidence of most other cancer types not related to obesity did not increase in the younger age group, with some decreasing such as smoking-related cancers like lung cancer. The authors observed that the increase in obesity-related cancers occurred in tandem with an increase in obesity rates in youth. Between 1980 and 2014, the prevalence of overweight/obesity in U.S. children and adolescents increased by more than 100%.

“The results from the American Cancer Society study are alarming, though not entirely surprising, given that obesity is associated with at least a dozen types of cancers,” said Dr. Ed Giovannucci, professor in the Harvard Chan School’s departments of nutrition and epidemiology, who was not involved in the study. “We suspected that the recent rises in obesity rates in children and adolescents might affect rates of these cancers, but we did not have clear data until this study. It appears that at least 6 of these obesity-related cancers have shown recent increases in young-onset cancer, which parallels the increasing rates of obesity.  Unfortunately, this  has countered some of the advances we had made through lower smoking rates, screening, and improvement in treatment.”

Obesity prevention and control remains an urgent public health issue, requiring individual and societal action. Obesity-related cancers emerging in younger adults will only increase their disease burden as they age, and they run the risk of developing other weight-related conditions such as type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and osteoarthritis.

By |2019-08-10T13:53:02+00:00February 20th, 2019|Blog|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment